[Skip to Content]

Registration Patrons  |  General InformationCall for Abstracts 

Last updated:  September 6, 2022

Day 0 - Monday, 12 September 2022
All times are in U.S. Eastern Standard Time

10:00 – 13:30

Workshop 1 - Microtransit:  Innovation and Opportunity
Jean Ruestman, Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT)

10:00 – 12:30

Workshop 2 - Autonomous Vehicles: Promise and Opportunity for Individuals with Visual Disabilities
Dan Blais, Innovation Centre, Transport Canada 






Day 1 - Tuesday, 13 September 2022

10:00 - 10:50

Opening Ceremony: Welcome and Keynote Addresses 


  • Neil Pedersen, Executive Director, Transportation Research Board
  • Judy Shanley and Todd Hansen, Co-chairs, Standing Committee on Accessible Transportation and Mobility (AME50)
  • Jill Hough, Chair, Standing Committee on Rural, Intercity Bus, and Specialized Transportation (AP055)

Keynote - Pete Buttigieg, US Secretary of Transportation, USA host (video presentation)

10:50 – 12:00

Plenary Session: Accessibility – Where are We?

  • Mary Crass, International Transport Forum
  • Marc Workman, World Blind Union
  • Sam Sullivan, former Mayor of Vancouver, Canada

Moderator: Trevor Hanson, University of New Brunswick


-break begins-

12:15 – 13:45

[Poster Session] – Demand Response Transportation (DRT) 

Session Concierge:  Sandford Klanfer, Houston-Galveston Area Council


-break ends-

14:00 - 14:15

Framing Remarks:  Video presentation on Accessible Transport (The Americas

Organizer:  Janett Jimenez, Can Lah, S.C.

14:15 – 16:15

Technical Session: Accessibility (1)

Trevor Hanson, University of New Brunswick

Technical Session:  Paratransit

Mark Mindorff, Executive Director, Darts Transit, Ontario, Canada

Technical Session:  Planning and Evaluating Programs

Yochai Eisenberg, University of Illinois at Chicago
























Day 2 - Wednesday, 14 September 2022

10:00 – 10:15

Framing Remarks:  Video presentation on Accessible Transport (Asia and Pacific Islands

Organizer:  Janett Jimenez, Can Lah, S.C.

10:15 – 12:15

Roundtable Discussion - Impact of COVID-19 on Transport for People with Disabilities

  • Jose Holguin-Veras, Pan American Society of Transportation Research (PANAMSTR)
  • Paul Skoutelas, American Public Transportation Association (APTA)
  • Mark Mindorff, DARTS, Ontario, Canada
  • Christo Venter, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Pretoria

Moderator:  Judy Shanley, Easterseals and Mark Mindorff, DARTS


-break begins-

12:30 – 13:45

[Poster Session] – Accessibility

Session Concierge: Kate Hunter-Zaworski, Oregon State University


-break ends-

14:00 – 16:00

Technical Session:  Mobility

Kit Mitchell, Retired

Technical Session:   Accessibility (2) 

Ling Suen, Intelligent Computer and Systems Applications (ICSA) Inc.

Technical Session: :  Mobility as a Service (MaaS) 

 David Chia, DWC Consulting





















Day 3 - Thursday, 15 September 2022

10:00 – 10:15

Framing Remarks: Video presentation on Accessible Transport (Africa
Organizer:  Janett Jimenez, Can Lah, S.C.

10:15 – 12:15

Workshop 3 -  Micromobility:   Innovation and Opportunity

 Uwe Rutenberg, Rutenberg Design Inc.; and Katherine Hunter-Zaworski K.M. Hunter-Zaworski, LLC

Technical Session:  Cars and Drivers 

Dan Blais, Innovation Centre at Transport Canada

Technical Session: Transit Service Models

Moderator: Roger Teal, DemandTrans Solutions Inc.,



-break begins-

12:30 – 13:45

[Poster Session] - Topics of Interest

Session Concierge: Kara MacLeod, Independent


-break ends-

14:00 -16:00

Technical Session:

Meg Robertson

Workshop 4:  Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) for Underserved Communities

Elina Zlotchenko, Program Manager, ITS JPO

Technical Session:
Challenges and Successes with Shared-Use Mobility in Rural, Frontier, and Tribal Areas

Robin Phillips, National Rural Technical Assistance Program  





















Day 4 - Friday, 16 September 2022

10:00 – 10:15

Framing Remark: Video Presentation on Accessible Transport (Europe)

Organizer:  Janett Jimenez, Can Lah, S.C.

10:15 – 12:15

Workshop 5: The Transactional Data Specification: From Theory to Practice

Moderator: Steve Yaffe, Yaffe Mobility Consulting

Technical Session:  Air Travel

Steve Winter, Transport Canada

ASL interpretation provided*

Technical Session:Urban Accessibility

Moderator: Todd Hansen, Texas A&M Transportation Institute


12:15 – 14:00

Lunch Break

14:00 – 15.30

Plenary Session:  Partnerships for Equity in Transportation and Sustainable Funding - Where Do We Improve Next?

  • Graham Currie, Demand Responsive Financial Sustainability, Monash University
  • Victor Pineda, World Enabled Initiative, Accessibility – Where Must We Improve? 
  • Kelly Buckland, Disability Policy Advisor for the Office of Assistant Secretary on Policy, USDOT, How Equity Fits into Project Approval   

Moderator, Mary Leary, Acting Associate Administrator, Federal Transit Administration

15:30 – 16:00

Closing Session & Award Ceremony
Conference Summary and William Bell Award Ceremony

















* ASL service provided
** Closed-captioning provided in all sessions